AddThis SmartLayers

Prize-winning journalists do the business

The 2002 Yorkshire Bank Northern Business Journalist of the Year Award winners have been announced, with the Newspaper of the Year prize going to the Yorkshire Post.

Judge Nick Garbutt, from Yorkshire Bank, said: “The Yorkshire Post produced an outstanding entry – beautifully laid-out, imaginative, lively, varied and interesting.

“The judges saw the publication as an agenda-setting newspaper that knows its business community and serves it excellently, covering issues that concern it as well as many of the nationals.”

The other shortlisted entries were the Telegraph & Argus, Bradford, and the Journal, from Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Daily Newspaper Journalist of the Year was Sheryl Moore, of the Manchester Evening News.

Also shortlisted in this category were Jane Charnley, of the Yorkshire Post; Kieran Howlett, of the Lancashire Evening Post; David Parkin, of the Yorkshire Post; and Patricia Roberts, of the Manchester Evening News.

The judges felt Sheryl stood-out as a “mature, well-balanced writer of growing authority”, and someone whose pieces showed flair, insight and original approaches.

They said her writing often gave an impressive local feel to issues of national or even global importance and her interesting material was well-considered and presented, and written in an accessible and entertaining way.

The Weekly Newspaper Journalist of the Year, for the second successive time, was Martin Spooner, formerly of the Wakefield Express, with David Sudworth, of the Southport Visiter and Martin Shaw, of the Press, Dewsbury, also shortlisted.

Nick said: “Martin provided particularly punchy, bright and entertaining copy. The pieces showed local newspaper journalism at its best – seeing a newsworthy angle to an issue on the doorstep and getting to the heart of it, talking to the people involved and analysing the impact on the community.

“His analysis was always penetrating and thoughtful, showing great depth, and his attention to detail and determination to inform were also praiseworthy.”

Magazine Journalist of the Year was Rachel Bristowe, of North-West Insider, with her colleague David Chadwick and Alastair Gilmour, of the Journal Business Magazine, being highly commended.

The Broadcast Journalist of the Year title was won by Alan Whitehouse, BBC North transport correspondent. Magazine of the Year, for the second successive time, was North-West Business Insider.

And the New Media Outlet of the Year was The Red Tape, with website Manchester Online highly commended.

All the winners were presented with engraved trophies and framed certificates. Journalists who won categories for individuals also received cheques for £1,000.

The 2002 scheme was expanded through the addition of the New Media Outlet category. New records were set this year for the number of entries received and business journalists attending the presentation dinner, held at the Marriott Hotel, Leeds.

Back to the awards index

Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail [email protected]