AddThis SmartLayers

North-East journalists line up for annual awards

More than 60 journalists at newspapers and magazines are in the line-up for prizes at the 24th Tom Cordner Transco North East Press Awards.

The judges’ shortlist of finalists includes outstanding work in news, sport and other specialist reporting, features, layout/design and photography.

All the winners, including the North East Newspaper of the Year, North East Weekly Newspaper of the Year and North East Journalist of the Year, will be announced at the annual ceremony in Newcastle Civic Centre on May 14.

The awards are being presented by ITN journalist Nicholas Owen, who began his television career in 1981 in the North, after working on the Surrey Mirror from 1964 and Fleet Street from 1968.

Awards secretary Keith Seacroft said: “We introduced the shortlists last year after discussions with the region’s editors, and it was a very popular move.

“If you’re on this list, you are already at least highly commended for the quality of your work. There is a fantastic amount of talent serving the region.”

The awards attracted nearly 240 entries from papers covering the region from Northumberland to North Yorkshire.

They were launched as a tribute to Tom Cordner, of the Hartlepool Mail, who died at the early age of 38, in 1976.

As announced earlier this year, a new trophy will be among the honours. The Tony Dumphy Award for front or back page layout and design is being presented by the Evening Gazette, Middlesbrough, in memory of their much-loved Head of Editorial Production. Tony died after a short illness last September only four months after winning that particular category for a third time.

The shortlist is below:

Consumer Affairs Prize
Best portfolio of consumer affairs writing
Sponsored by: the North Eastern Co-operative Society

Andrea Thurlbeck, Sunderland Echo
Jane Hall, The Journal

Thomas E Bergman Prize
For the best arts reporting
Sponsor: Bergmans Public Relations

Coreena Ford, Sunday Sun
Gordon Barr, Evening Chronicle

Phillip Hickey Trophy: North East Columnist of the Year
Sponsors: Northeast Press Ltd and Northern Echo

Daniel Thomson, The Journal
Beth Neil, Evening Chronicle
Peter Mortimer, Whitley Bay News Guardian
Alistair Gilmour, The Journal
Ian Galletley, Teesdale Mercury
Mike Amos, Northern Echo

Steve Jones Prize
For reporting that contributes most to the community
Sponsor: Warburtons

News Team, Evening Chronicle
John Howe, Sunderland Echo (now at Evening Chronicle)
John Corney, Sunderland Echo
Mike Amos, Northern Echo

Jeremy Bennington Prize: for Scoop of the Year
Sponsor: Tyne and Wear Development Company

Caroline Smith, Sunday Sun
Catherine Jewitt, Northern Echo
Lindsay Jennings, Northern Echo
Leanne English, Hartlepool Mail

Kate Adie Award for Initiative in Journalism
For reporting that shows ability to take a story that extra stage in the public interest Sponsor: University of Newcastle

Gayle Tomlinson, Evening Chronicle
Sam Strangeways, Northern Echo

ABC Spike for overall newspaper page design
Sponsor: Darlington College of Technology

Susan Taylor, The Journal
Paul Taylor, Sunderland Echo
Les Oliver, Sunderland Echo
Peter Leathley, The Journal