AddThis SmartLayers

Leader leads the way at annual awards bash

The Wrexham Evening Leader picked up a number of prizes at the annual North Wales Newspapers Ltd awards – and also lifted the main honour at the ceremony.

It won the company’s overall Newspaper of the Year award for the second year running, and also received the award for best designed news and sports pages.

The Weekly Newspaper of the Year went to the Powys County Times and Free Newspaper of the Year went to the Rhyl Journal.

The Evening Leader’s Anna Jones collected the Reporter of the Year award after impressing an independent panel of judges with her selection of news and feature stories. She was also runner-up in the Feature Writer of the Year section.

And Jayne Morris of the Flintshire Evening Leader picked up the Trainee Reporter of the Year award.

The Leader’s Iain St John was named Columnist of the Year and was runner-up in the Reporter of the Year category.

Photographer of the Year was Phil Blagg, of the Powys County Times. Evening Leader photographer Mandy Jones was highly commended by the panel of judges and picture editor Rick Matthews received a commendation.

The Sports Reporter of the Year award was re-named the David Lovett Memorial Trophy in memory of the late chief football writer and was won by Dan Brennan of the Powys County Times.

Back to the awards index

Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail [email protected]