AddThis SmartLayers

HoldtheFrontPage is Europe’s best!

Holdthefrontpage has been named the best journalism service in Europe.

The accolade came last night when the site was named the Best Overall Journalism Service in the 2002 European Online Journalism Awards.

Publisher Patrick Astill and journalist Nikki Sargeson picked up the award at the Adam Club in London, beating competition from BBC Radio 4’s Today website and Guardian Unlimited.

  • Patrick Astill (right) is presented with the
    certificate by Dave Green

    More than 875 sites from 24 European countries entered the awards, which were judged by 122 journalists and digital media specialists from leading European publishers.

    Holdthefrontpage was launched in 2000 by the electronic publishing department at the Derby Evening Telegraph under its then editor Keith Perch.

    Launch editors Elaine Pritchard and Pete Pheasant ensured the site had a good start, marketing it to people in the regional press and generating a variety of new, information and feature stories, as well as putting together a series of resources to help working journalists.

    It has gone from strength to strength, recording up to 100,000 page impressions each week.

    Full details of the NetMedia awards are here.

    Back to the awards index

    Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
    E-mail [email protected]