AddThis SmartLayers

New journalism awards launched for the South West

EDF Energy has teamed up with HoldtheFrontPage to host an exciting new series of media awards in the South West.

Journalists from all newspapers, radio and television stations are being invited to enter the EDF Energy South West Media Awards, which will be presented at a ceremony in Bristol on June 16.

It will be free to enter, and all shortlisted candidates will be invited to a presentation ceremony where lunch will be provided courtesy of the sponsors.

The high-profile event will also raise money for the Newspaper Press Fund, which benefits journalists and their dependents in times of personal difficulty.

The award winners will all receive a certificate, and individual journalists who triumph will also receive £100.

Categories for the new awards will include the print journalists of the year for daily and weekly publications, radio journalist of the year, TV journalist of the year, front page of the year, newspaper of the year, feature writer, sports journalist of the year, photographer of the year and many others.

Work submitted must be from the year April 1, 2004, to March 31, 2005, so dig out your cuttings and tapes, as we will be publishing an entry form on HoldtheFrontPage very soon.

Watch this space for more news and information on the EDF Energy South West Media Awards, in association with

  • The awards cover newspapers and broadcasters in Cornwall, Devon, Somerset, Bristol, Bath, Wiltshire and Gloucestershire.