AddThis SmartLayers

Candidates line up for editorial awards

Staff from the Bristol Evening Post, Sunday Mercury, Yorkshire Evening Post and Cambridge Evening News are among those in the running for an award from the Newspaper Society.

The nominations are part of the 2003 Newspaper Sales and Promotions Awards, which this year includes additional editorial categories.

Awards will be handed out for the Campaigning Newspaper of the Year; Community Newspaper of the Year; Journalist of the Year; Young Journalist of the Year; Photographer of the Year; Design and Layout of the Year and Regional Newspaper of the Year, together with more than 20 sales and promotion awards.

The winners will be announced during an awards ceremony and gala dinner at the Birmingham Metropole Hotel on March 24, which will follow a Sales and Promotions Conference.

The full list of editorial nominations is:

  • Chris Maguire, Bristol Evening Post
  • Bristol Evening Post
  • James Fuller, Cambridge Evening News
  • Dave Charnley, Evening Gazette (Teeside)
  • Evening Gazette (Teeside)
  • Isle of Man Examiner
  • Ian Robinson, Lancashire Evening Post
  • Lancashire Evening Post/Wigan Evening Post
  • Lincolnshire Echo
  • Sharon Edwards, Lincolnshire Echo
  • John Raikes, Newark Advertiser
  • Nottingham Evening Post
  • Shrewsbury Chronicle
  • South London Press
  • Amardeep Bassey, Sunday Mercury
  • Bob Haywood, Sunday Mercury
  • Tamworth Herald
  • Carrie Buckle, The Argus
  • Mary Fitzgerald, The Belfast Telegraph
  • Dave Blackhurst, The Sentinel
  • Richard Bramwell, The Sentinel
  • The Star (Sheffield)
  • Western Daily Press
  • Worksop Guardian
  • Mark Bickeroike, Yorkshire Evening Post
  • Bruce Rollinson, Yorkshire Post
  • Yorkshire Post

    To see a list of the nominations in the sales and promotions categories, visit

    Back to the awards index

    Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.