AddThis SmartLayers

Brighton takes top honours

BT saluted the cream of the regional media at the 1999 BT Southern Home Counties Press and Broadcast Awards presentation lunch held at the Gatwick Renaissance Hotel, Surrey.

Announcing the winners, Roger Broad, BT strategy and development (Southern UK), told the invited audience that the judges were impressed by the quality and high standard of this year’s entries – making their task a difficult one yet again.

The coveted Daily Newspaper of the Year award for the region went to The Evening Argus, Brighton. Judges described the paper as a “must read for anyone living in its area”.

In the individual awards, the same excellent journalism skills were displayed by winners and runners-up alike, said the judges.

Argus reporter David Edwards was announced as Daily News Journalist of the Year.

All individual winners received a cheque for £250, an engraved trophy and a commemorative certificate. Runners-up were presented with a cheque for £50 and commemorative certificate.

The winners of the three group categories – the programme of the year and the daily and weekly newspapers of the year – received an engraved trophy and a cheque for £500 to be donated to a charity or worthy cause of their choice.

Each of the winners now goes through to the national finals, where their work will be judged against that of the other regional winners. The national awards will be presented at a ceremony at the Royal Garden Hotel, Kensington, London on June 29.

The full list of winners is:

BT Southern Business Journalist of the Year:
David Litterick, The News, Portsmouth

Highly commended:
James Scott, Crawley Observer and Liz Woodford, Basingstoke Gazette

BT Southern Sports Journalist of the Year:
Andy Steggall, Meridian Broadcasting

Highly commended: Graham Hiley, Southern Daily Echo and Portsmouth News team Simon Parker, Mark Storey & Danny Griffiths

BT Southern News Photographer of the Year:
Richard Crease, The Daily Echo, Bournemouth

Highly commended: Peter Langdown, The News, Portsmouth and Corin Messer, The Daily Echo, Bournemouth

BT Southern Feature Writer of the Year:
Angela Wintle, Evening Argus, Brighton

Highly commended: Faith Eckersall, The Daily Echo, Bournemouth; Rachel Lamb, Southern Daily Echo; Simon Toft, The News, Portsmouth

BT Southern Radio News Broadcaster of the Year:
John Warnett, BBC Radio Kent

Highly commended: Miriam Quayyum, BBC Radio Kent

BT Southern Television News Broadcaster of the Year:
Hugh Kirby, Meridian Broadcasting

Highly commended: Peter Henley and Helen James, also from Meridian Broadcasting

BT Southern Weekly News Journalist of the Year:
Highly commended: Simon Dolby, East Kent Gazette

BT Southern Daily News Journalist of the Year:
David Edwards, Evening Argus, Brighton

Highly commended: Rebecca Paveley and Adam Postans, both from the Southern Daily Echo

BT/Society of Editors Southern Newcomer of the Year:
Krissy Lloyd, Basingstoke Gazette

Highly commended: Richard Midson, Thames Radio and Amanda Wilkins, Seaford Gazette

BT Southern News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year:
Port in a Storm, BBC Radio Kent

Highly commended: Earthquake, Meridian Broadcasting and Life After Ledward, Meridian Broadcasting

BT Southern Weekly Newspaper of the Year:
Kent Messenger

Highly commended: The Pink, The Southern Echo and Salisbury Journal

BT Southern Daily Newspaper of the Year:
Evening Argus, Brighton

Highly commended: Southern Daily Echo

The judges were: Phil Longman, managing editor of BBC TV News; Jason Bryant, Wireless Group managing director; Tony Allaway, Sunday Times regional editor; Jeff Powell, chief sports feature writer of the Daily Mail; Fiona Walsh, Evening Standard business features editor; Greg Whitmore, The Observer picture editor; Jonathan Grun, editor of PA News; Peter Paterson, Daily Mail TV reviewer; David Seymour, chief political editor of The Mirror; Chris Morgan, The Sunday Times royal correspondent; Bob Satchwell, Society of Editors; Mike Wilson, Derbyshire Times editor and Mike Lockley, editor in chief of the Lichfield Post Series.

Have you won an award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail us now for more details.