AddThis SmartLayers

Belfast duo scoop top awards

The Belfast Telegraph emerged victorious as Newspaper of the Year in the IPR/BT Northern Ireland Press and Broadcast Awards.

Its sister title Sunday Life was named Best Sunday Newspaper at the awards night in the Ramada Hotel Belfast, while staff working for the two papers scooped Photographer of the Year, Supplement of the Year and Print Production Person of the Year.

Judges said of the Telegraph: “Powerful pictures and headlines combined with crisp payout and strong editorial make The Belfast Telegraph a worthy winner.

“The paper demonstrates a consistently high standard throughout that delivers real value to its readers.”

The Ulster Herald was named Weekly Newspaper of the Year, “a classy product”, according to the judges.

And the Weekly News Journalist of the Year was Chris Donegan, of the Impartial Reporter.

The judges said: “Donegan emerged the winner because of the wider range of stories submitted, each written with the clarity and community interest necessary for a successful weekly newspaper reporter.”

Newspapers were up against broadcast journalists for many of the prizes, with the BBC winning many of the prizes on offer.

The winners were:

Best Daily Newspaper:
Belfast Telegraph
Best Sunday Newspaper:
Sunday Life
Newspaper of the Year:
Belfast Telegraph

Weekly Newspaper of the Year:
Ulster Herald
Commended: Impartial Reporter; Portadown Times

IPR/BT Journalist of the Year
Kevin Magee, BBC
Commended: Geoff Hill, Newsletter and Greg Harkin, The People

News Journalist of the Year
Greg Harkin, The People
Commended: Sharon O’Neill, The Irish News

Newspaper Production Person of the Year
Neil McKay, Belfast Telegraph
Commended: Jeremey Kirker, The Irish News

Weekly News Journalist of the Year
Chris Donegan, The Impartial Reporter

Sports Journalist of the Year:
Maggie Taggart, BBC
Commended: Sandra Murphy, Newsletter

Specialist Journalist of the Year:
Maggie Taggart, BBC
Commended: Tara Crag, Wedding Journal; Gerry Fitzgerald, Belfast Telegraph

Sports Journalist of the Year:
Graham Little UTV
Print: Jim Gracey, Sunday Life
Overall: Jim Gracey, Sunday Life

Feature Writer of the Year:
Geoff Hill, The Newsletter
Commended: Mary Fitzgerald, Belfast Telegraph; Helen McGurk/Adrienne McGill, The Newsletter

Newspaper Photographer of the Year:
Ian Trevithick, Belfast Telegraph
Commended: Bill Smith (freelance); Niall Carson, The Irish News

Martin O’Hagan Memorial Award
Joanne Symington, The Irish News

Newcomer of the Year

Brian Hollywood, BBC Ni ‘Fairplay’
Joanne Symington, The Irish News
Joanne Symington, The Irish News

Business Journalist of the Year:

Eddie O’Gorman, BBC Radio Ulster

Tina Calder, Daily Mirror
Overall: Eddie O’Gorman BBC Radio Ulster

Website Publication of the Year
BBC Northern Ireland Online

E-journalist of the Year
Brian Rowan, BBC News Online NI

Magazine of the Year:
Alternative Ulster/Belfast Telegraph 24/7

Award for Technical Innovation
BBC Northern Ireland News Online

News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
Loyalists at War, BBC NI

Cameraman/Crew of the Year
Mark Jervis

News Broadcaster of the Year
TV: Kevin Magee
Radio: Audrey Carville
Overall: Kevin Magee

Back to the awards index

Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail [email protected]