AddThis SmartLayers

Awards hat-trick for the Post

The Liverpool Daily Post has picked up a hat-trick of awards at this year’s North West Newspaper Awards.

The newspaper beat competition from titles across Cheshire, Lancashire, Greater Manchester, Merseyside and Cumbria to be crowned Daily Newspaper of the Year.

And its journalists Andy Kelly and Mark Hookham were also winners, scooping prizes for News Reporter of the Year and Young Journalist of the Year, respectively.

Other winners included Chris Bascombe from the Liverpool Echo, who was named Sports Reporter of the Year for the second year running, and Diane Cooke, from the Manchester Evening News, who was awarded the title of Feature Writer of the Year.

The prize for Photographer of the Year went to Clive Lawrence from the Lancashire Evening Telegraph, while The Cumberland News picked up the trophy for Weekly Newspaper of the Year.

The winners were announced during a presentation lunch at the JJB Stadium in Wigan.

Each winner in the individual categories picked up a cheque for £700 and a certificate and runners-up were awarded a cheque for £150 and a certificate. The daily and weekly newspaper winners each collected a trophy and a certificate and the runners-up were presented with a certificate.

The North West Newspaper Awards, sponsored by British Nuclear Group and organised through the North West region of the Society of Editors, recognise the best journalists and newspapers throughout the area.

The judges in this year’s competition were Alan Powell, editor of the Sheffield Telegraph, Sean Dooley, editor of The Sentinel and Gordon Maxwell, from the North West Society of Editors.

A full list of winners is below:

Daily Newspaper of the Year
Winner: Liverpool Daily Post
Runners-up: The Gazette Blackpool; Manchester Evening News

Weekly Newspaper of the Year
Winner: The Cumberland News
Runners-up: Chester Chronicle; The Westmorland Gazette

News Reporter of the Year
Winner: Andy Kelly, Liverpool Daily Post
Runners-up: Emilie Bradshaw, Lancashire Evening Post; Clare Cook, Lancashire Evening Telegraph

Feature Writer of the Year
Winner: Diane Cooke, Manchester Evening News
Runners-up: Roger Lytollis, News & Star / The Cumberland News; Jane Woodhead, Liverpool Echo

Sports Reporter of the Year
Winner: Chris Bascombe, Liverpool Echo
Runners-up: Andy Neild, Lancashire Evening Telegraph; Amanda Little, News & Star

Photographer of the Year
Winner: Clive Lawrence, Lancashire Evening Telegraph
Runners-up: Paul Heaps, Liverpool Daily Post & Echo; Jason Roberts, Liverpool Daily Post & Echo

Young Journalist of the Year
Winner: Mark Hookham, Liverpool Daily Post
Runners-up: David Hogg, Lancashire Evening Post; Jenny Watson, Liverpool Echo

Back to the awards index

Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail [email protected]