AddThis SmartLayers

Yorkshire journalists to battle it out at awards

Regional newspaper reporters will go head to head with television and radio journalists in this year’s 02 Media Awards for Yorkshire and The Humber.

The Scoop of the Year, News Reporter of the Year and Team of the Year categories will all see nominees from newpapers battling it out with candidates from television and radio in the final three.

Topping the league table of nominations with seven is the Yorkshire Post while both The Star, Sheffield, and BBC Radio Sheffield have three each.

The Post goes up against the Hull Daily Mail and Yorkshire Evening Post in the daily newspaper of the year category, while the battle for weekly newspaper of the year will be between the Gainsborough Standard, Rotherham Advertiser and Wakefield Express.

The Halifax Courier has two reporters in the Young Journalist daily category, Ruth Mosalski and Toby Higgins. They’ll face competition from Laura Bowyer of the Yorkshire Evening Post.

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on 14 July at York Racecourse.

Glenn Manoff from O2 said the awards had once again attracted a record number of entries.

He said: “The judges were hugely impressed with the quality of the work and we’re delighted that many of the entries demonstrate the important role of the regional press in local communities and the excellent work of news teams across the regions.”

The full shortlist is as follows:

Young Journalist of the Year (Weekly Newspapers)

Andrew Trendell – Gainsborough Standard
Karl Hansell – Whitby Gazette

Young Journalist of the Year (Daily Newspapers)

Ruth Mosalski – Halifax Courier
Laura Bowyer – Yorkshire Evening Post
Toby Higgins – Halifax Courier

Scoop of the Year

Real Radio
ITV Yorkshire
Yorkshire Post

Radio Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Mick Lunney – BBC Radio Sheffield
James Vincent -BBC Radio Sheffield
Eleanor Noakes – Real Radio Yorkshire

Digital Journalist of the Year

Rick Burin -Harrogate Advertiser
Graham Walker – The Star, Sheffield
David Behrens – Yorkshire Post

TV Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Jon Hill – ITV Yorkshire
Nicola Rees – BBC Look North
Emma Glasbey – BBC Look North

Business Reporter of the Year

Catherine Lea – Hull Daily Mail
Lizzie Murphy -Yorkshire Post
Greg Wright – Yorkshire Post

Feature Writer of the Year

Martin Smith -The Star, Sheffield
Rick Burin – Harrogate Advertiser
Stephen Lewis – The Press, York

Photographer of the Year:

Andy Garbutt – Telegraph and Argus, Bradford
Stephen Garnett – Craven Herald
James Hardisty – Yorkshire Post Newspapers

Sports Reporter of the Year

Martin Smith – The Star, Sheffield
Richard Sutcliffe – Yorkshire Post
Paul Goodwin – Doncaster Free Press

News Reporter of the Year:

Grace Melody-Gardner – Real Radio Yorkshire
Nicola Rees – BBC Look North
Katie Baldwin – Yorkshire Evening Post
Kate Mason – Doncaster Free Press

Editorial Team of the Year:

Whitby Gazette
BBC Radio Sheffield
BBC Look North

Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Rotherham Advertiser
Gainsborough Standard
Wakefield Express

Daily Newspaper of the Year

Hull Daily Mail
Yorkshire Evening Post
Yorkshire Post

One comment

You can follow all replies to this entry through the comments feed.
  • June 21, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Will it be pistols or swords? Should be a cracking scrap between Richard Sutcliffe and Paul Goodwin. Last man standing wins… Come on, you can’t sex up the unsexy. Slapstick poor writing. Saying that, good luck all

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(0)