AddThis SmartLayers

TV rivals come together for memorial event

Senior executives from both BBC and Sky News will come together at the University of Kent on 3 March.

BBC director general Mark Thompson will deliver the Bob Friend Memorial Lecture while Sky’s editorial development manager Rob Kirk will present a first-year journalism student with the Bob Friend Memorial Scholarship.

The lecture and scholarship were established last year in a partnership between Sky News, the university and Mr Friend’s family to provide a lasting memorial to the former Sky News and BBC journalist.

Bob died in October 2008 from a brain tumour. The scholarship is awarded to a student who has demonstrated outstanding academic and professional merit.

The event is free but admission is by ticket only – for details and to apply call 01227 769075.

The Amnesty International Media Awards 2010 are now open for entries.

Established in 1992, they celebrate the best writing and broadcasting on human rights issues.

There are 11 different awards including best photojournalism, newspaper supplement, digital and nations and regions for entries from Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the English Regions.

The latter prize was won by Lucy Adams from Glasgow daily The Herald last year.

Deadline for entries is 1 March – for full details visit

The National Union of Journalists Wales is running a series of training courses over the coming weeks.

Among the subjects covered are online publishing, video blogging and building a website with others planned for later in the year.

For more information, rates and to book a place email or call 01291 671 485.

Sports journalist Roddy Mackenzie, who runs the Edinburgh-based agency Final Whistle Media, is running ten 10K runs during 2010.

He has so far raised over £150 for the charity Alzheimer Scotland and is keen for others to join in.

More information about the 10×10 challenge is available on while Roddy can be sponsored at

The Association of Online Publishers is calling for entries to its 2010 Digital Publishing Awards.

There are 18 different award categories including editorial team, best website and innovation.

The awards ceremony takes place on 10 June in London and the deadline for entries is 5 March – the AOP is not specifying an exact date. For more details and to enter visit


ron_n (10/02/2010 11:44:24)
The entry deadline for the AOP awards is 5 March – thanks!